The FMJA Founders Award is the most prestigious honor the FMJA bestows, and is presented to a person who has made valuable and lasting contributions to the Magistrate Judges system of the United States courts. Recipients are not limited to magistrate judges but may be others who have contributed significantly to the success of the system.

Past recipients include:

  • Hon. Jonathan Feldman and Hon. Barry Kurren (2019)
  • Hon. Celeste F. Bremer and Hon. Louisa S. Porter (2018)
  • Hon. William (Billy) Cassady and Hon. Jerome (Jerry) Niedermeier (2017)
  • Hon. Karen Wells Roby, Hon. Sidney I. Schenkier, and Hon. Karen L. Strombom (2016)
  • Hon. Mark Abel and Hon. Peter Palermo (2015);
  • Hon. Aaron Goodstein and Hon. Karen Klein (2014);
  • Carol Sefren (2013);
  • Jim Duff (2012);
  • John Napier (2011);
  • Hon. John Roberts (2007);
  • Hon. Nina Gershon and Hon. Edward Becker (2006);
  • Hon. Tommy Miller, Hon. Paul Komives and Hon. Richard Peterson (2005);
  • Richard Dargan (2004);
  • Hon. John Weinberg (2002);
  • Duane Lee (posthumously) (2001);
  • Hon. John Moulds (2000);
  • Hon. Harvey Slessinger (1999);
  • Hon. Robert Collings and Thomas Hnatowski (1998);
  • Hon. William H. Rehnquist and Hon. Philip M. Pro (1997);
  • Hon. Illa Jeanne Sensenich, Hon. Donald Abram and Hon. Virginia Morgan (1996);
  • William Schwarzer (1995);
  • Thomas Jones (posthumously) and L. Ralph Meacham (1992);
  • Hon. Robert Carr and Robert Kastenmeier (1991);
  • Hon. John Roper and Hon. Joseph Hatchett (1990);
  • Hon. Charles Metzner (1989);
  • Hon. Richard Goldsmith (posthumously), Peter McCabe and Hon. Otto Skopil (1987);
Hon. Jonathan Feldman - 2019 Award Recipient