Works with the FMJA Executive Director to organize the Annual Convention held every summer in conjunction with the Federal Judicial Center. 

Dustin Pead
Cecilia Romero
Shari Bedker

Provides oversight and advice on all financial aspects of the FMJA, including, but not limited to, investment policy, monthly financial statement review, yearly taxes, and budget.

Nancy Joseph – Chair

Shari Bedker
Allison Goddard
Sunil Harjani
K. Nicole Mitchell
Kristen Mix
Robert Numbers
Susan Schwab
Deborah Smith

Oversees publication, revision and maintenance of the Quarterly Bulletin as well as provide communications to FMJA membership on relevant topics.

Jennifer Thurston – Chair
Helen Adams
Sarah Merriam
Robert Numbers 
Dena Palermo 

Provides periodic review of the current by-laws and recommend updates/edits to the Board for consideration.

David Keesler – Chair

John F. Anderson 
Linda Anderson 
Kristen Mix
Ramon Reyes

Provides resources to the community, including schools on the U.S. Judicial System in conjunction with the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts and FMJA. Provides resources to U.S. Magistrate Judges who are interested in educating their local communities.

 Kimberly Priest-Johnson – Co-chair
Omar Aboulhosn – Co-chair

Hope Thai Cannon
Sara Cave
Charmaine Claxton
Gordon Gallagher
Allison Goddard
Ron Hedges
Michael E. Hegarty
Stephen Jackson
Teresa James
John Love
Ruth Montenegro
Alistair Newbern
Michael Newman
Robert Numbers
Scott Oravec
Thomas M. Parker
Jolie Russo
Alice Senechal
Robert W. Trumble
Brenda Weksler
Karen Williams

Promotes and educates on the importance of diversity on the bench to the judiciary, bar and community.  The committee also reviews and recommends nominees for the Diversity Award to the Executive Committee.  Other activities of the committee have included a video project of interviews of diverse magistrate judges, panels of diverse magistrate judges addressing the bar on their path to the bench, and Robes in the Schools.

Shaniek Maynard – Co-Chair
Ignacio Torteya – Co-Chair

Omar Aboulhosn
Maria Audero
Justin Anand
Linda Anderson
Alan Baverman
Gwynn Birzer
Sonja Bivens
Celeste Bremer
Leo Brisbois
Sanket Bulsara
Sara Cave
S. Kato Crews
Therese Wiley Dancks
Mark Falk
Theresa Fricke
Sunil Harjani
Patricia Harris
Barbara Holmes
Nancy Joseph
John Love
Robin Meriweather
Ruth Montenegro
Nan Nolan
Thomas Parker
Diana Song Quiroga
Ramon Reyes
Andy Shopler
Michael Seng
Deborah M. Smith
Julie Sneed
Karen Stevenson
Brian Tsuchida
Alicia Valle
Nina Wang
Joe Webster
Brenda Weksler
Kandis Westmor

As established by the bylaws, this committee includes the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and Immediate past President of the FMJA. The Executive Committee oversees all decision-making regarding matters pertaining to the organization and its operation.

Deborah Smith – Chair 
Kristen Mix 
Nicole Mitchell
Linda Anderson
Shiva Hodges
Mark Falk

Edits and publishes the Federal Courts Law Review, which was founded in 1997.  The editorial board, composed of U.S. Magistrate Judges and law school professors, uniquely combines the insight of the federal judiciary with the perspective of law school academics. 

David Sanders – Editor-in-Chief
Mary Pat Thynge – Executive Editor
John Rich – Articles Editor & First Circuit Representative

Circuit Editors:

John Anderson
Jeffrey Gilbert
Collin Lindsay
Jeremiah McArthy
David D. Noce
Christine A. Nowak
James P. O’Hara
John H. Rich
Mary Pat Thynge

At Large Editors: 

Robert Collings
William Garfinkel
Douglas E. Miller 
Katharine H. Parker
Karen Stevenson


Valerie Couch
Joel Friedman
Ira Robbins
Thomas D. Rowe, Jr.

Technical Consultant:

Andy Johnson-Laird


John Facciola

The mission of the Committee is to help preserve the history of the Federal Magistrate Judges Association as well as the Magistrate Judge system in the United States. This includes arranging interviews for oral histories that are then published on our website and YouTube. The Committee is also responsible for preparing tributes to colleagues who have passed away during the year.

Shiva Hodges – Chair
Celeste Bremer
Stephen Jackson
Barbara McAuliffe
Joi Peake

Organizes a bi-annual trip to an international location to explore and experience different parts of the world. Typically includes visits to Courts for exchange of best practices and ideas.

James M. Hopkins – Co-chair
Jan M. Adler – Co-chair

Stanley A. Boone
Donald Cabell
Wallace Capel
Sara Cave
Laura Fashing
Gordon Gallagher
Stephen Jackson
Elizabeth Jenkins
Nancy Joseph
Elizabeth D. Laporte
Frank Mass
Suzanne Mitchell
Kendall Newman
Louisa Porter
Steven Rau
Hal Ray
Suzanne Segal
Elizabeth Timothy
Edwin G. Torres
Ignacio Torteya
Nina Wang

Monitors legislation that affects members of the judiciary, particularly U.S. Magistrate Judges.  Works in conjunction with sister organizations, Federal Judges Association and National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges and the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.

Alan Baverman – Co-Chair
Thomas Ferraro-Co-Chair

Michael Berg
Kathleen Burke
Hope Cannon
William Cassady
Robert B. Collings
John Conroy
Patricia L. Dodge
Patrick Hanna
Michael Harvey
Barbara Holmes
Barry Kurren
Patricia Morris
Kendall Newman
Robert Numbers
Joseph Perez-Montes
Karen Roby
Timothy Sullivan
Diane Vescovo

Chaired by the Immediate Past President, the committee solicits interest in serving as an officer, primarily as Secretary. Confirms and recommends that the remainder of the Officers each year are willing and able to continue.

Mark Falk – Chair
Linda Anderson
Alan Baverman
Ramon Reyes
Karen Strombom

Provides resources to part-time U.S. Magistrate Judges as well as information to the Board about any concerns/questions specifically related to part-time U.S. Magistrate Judges.

Gordon Gallagher – Chair
Anthony R. Mautone
Scott Oravec

Provides resources to retired/recalled U.S. Magistrate Judges as well as information to the Board about any concerns/questions specifically related to retired/recalled U.S. Magistrate judges.

Holly Fitzsimmons – Chair

Faith M. Angell
David Bernthal
Joe Brown
William Cassady
Paul J. Cleary
Gerald Cohn
James England
Aaron E. Goodstein
Ronald J. Hedges
John Jelderks
Frank Maas
Tommy Miller
Tom Mummert
Louisa Porter
Gudrun Rice
Joel Schneider

Evaluates and reports on Rules affecting U.S. Magistrate Judges proposed by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.

Jennifer Boal – Co-Chair
Doug Miller – Co-Chair

Alan Baverman
Stan Boone
Joe B. Brown
Marty Carlson
Judith Dein
Steven Gold
Barbara D. Holmes
Philip Lammens
John Larkins
Sarah Merriam
Patricia Morris
Katharine Parker
Dave Peebles
Dave Sanders
Andy Schopler
Alice Senechal
Nita Stormes
Robert W. Trumble
Mary Pat Thynge

Provides information regarding safety and security for U.S. Magistrate Judges, their families and staff, whether it be physical or electronic safety.

Douglas Arpert – Chair
Helen Adams
Elizabeth Preston Deavers
Robert W. Trumble

Provides information to the community about the proper use of the title of U.S. Magistrate Judge, including responding directly to press, local bar, etc, who use the incorrect title.

Dena Palermo – Chair

Matthew Brookman
Cheryl Eifert
Lois Goodman
G. Michael Harvey
Kathleen Kay
William Matthewman
James Metcalf
Anthony Patti
Dustin Pead